Skip to content
ND Learning News

Kaneb Center and Graduate School Present Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Awards

April 30, 2024
ND Learning
A photo of a ballroom, where in the foreground, there is a table with two stacks of Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award certificates. In the background, attendees look on as a speaker addresses them from a podium.

Earlier this month, Notre Dame Learning’s Kaneb Center for Teaching Excellence and the Notre Dame Graduate School hosted a ceremony recognizing the 49 winners of the 2024 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Awards.

Recipients are selected by their departments, who can nominate up to five percent of their graduate instructors or TAs for their outstanding teaching.

At the event, Jennifer Schaefer, Sheehan Family Collegiate Professor in Notre Dame’s Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, addressed this year’s honorees, after which Ashley Henry, the Kaneb Center’s program director of graduate and postdoctoral development, and Michael Hildreth, dean of the Graduate School, presented the awards.

The full list of the 2024 winners is included below.

Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

Kristyna Hyblova
David Kelly
Zachary Lawson
Charles Naudet
Kaikui Xu


Megan Nishida

Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics

Rentian (James) Hu

Biological Sciences

Kurt Kohler
Caroline Lara
Laurel Lown
Nicole Weaver
Greyson Wolf

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Courtney Khong
Tiger Shi

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Nicholas Colorito
Taylor Gerrein
Kristin Grandstaff
Jarek Metro
Brendan Nieukirk
Kahargyan Nugraha

Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences

Russell Cox
Sandesh Rajput

Computer Science and Engineering

Mariana Fernández
Daniel Gonzalez Cedre
Aarohi Srivastava
William Theisen

Creative Writing

Gussie Beaver


Henry Downes

Electrical Engineering

Jon Cowart III
Mir Muntasir Hossain


Kristen Sieranski


Debora Rogo


Justin Beck
Harrison Gimenez
Liberty Jones

Medieval Institute

Francisco Cintrón Mattei


Abby Concha
Rebecca Kates

Physics and Astronomy

Adam Sanchez
Leah Zimmer

Political Science

James Kirk


Chenlingxi (Lyncie) Xu

Romance Languages and Literatures

Juliana Piña
Peter Scharer


Anna Gabur


Eric DeVilliers
Amirah Orozco

University Writing Center

Noemi Fernández Labarga

University Writing Program

Kyler Schubkegel